Equestrian Archives

2008-09 Equestrian Schedule

*All hunt shows will start at 12:00 p.m. on Saturdays

Date Event Results
10/18-19 Akron hunt

11/2 OSU western (2 shows)

11/8-9 Lake Erie hunt

11/16 Ohio University hunt

1/25 Ohio University western (2 shows)

2/1 OSU western (2 shows)

2/7-8 Ohio University hunt

2/14-15 Lake Erie hunt

2/22 Ohio University western (2 shows)

3/1 OSU western (2 shows)

3/8 Regionals

Western semifinals


Nationals - Murfreesboro TN


Two Dragons compete at Nationals (more)

Dragons take Regional Championship (more)

Pettigrew qualifies for Nationals as Dragons excel at Regional competition (more)

Dragons advance to Regional competition with strong showing at OSU (more)

Croswhite advances with strong showing at OU Western (more)

Dragons open spring semester with strong showing at OU Hunt (more)

Four Dragons qualify for Regionals at Ohio University Invite (more)

Foster qualifies for Regionals at Ohio University Hunt (more)

Dragons riders lead the way at OSU Western

The Tiffin University Equestrian team competed against eight college teams in two Western discipline shows at The OH State University on Sunday, November 2.  Tiffin University and Akron were named Reserve Champions.

 During the first competition in three separate classes: Intermediate II-Walk Trot Canter, Alison Dittman (Winter Haven, FL) and Danielle Holland (Memphis, MI) earned 2nd place;Elizabeth Buskey (Rootsville, OH) placed 3rd and Tiniel Pinon, (Tiffin, OH)and April Fruchtnicht (Greensburg, IN) placed 4th. (more)


2007-08 Equestrian Results

Date Event Results
10/20-21 Ohio University hunt
11/3-4 Lake Erie College hunt 
11/18 University of Akron - 2 western shows 
2/9-10/08 Lake Erie College hunt
2/17/08 Ohio University - 2/3 western shows
2/24/08 Ohio State University - 2 western shows
3/1-2/08 Ohio University hunt
3/16/08 Region I Western and Hunt Finals (Scion Farm)
3/29/08 Western Semifinals (Cazenovia, NY)
4/12/08 Zones at University of Findlay
5/8-11/08 Nationals at Los Angeles Equestrian Center, CA


Dragons program excelled during 2007-08 debut season

Tiffin University's equestrian team continued its superb debut season with a second place finish at the Ohio University Invitational. The Dragons were runnerup to Ohio State University in the eight-team field, and surprised the competition as Shawna Eisenhart earned Reserve Champion High Point Rider honors.

The Dragons were fourth after the first show, with Eisenhart getting the top highlight with a 1st place finish in Open Horsemanship. Trisha Hellein and Amanda Hoile also finished 2nd in Beginner Walk Trot. Other top performers for the Dragons on the first day included Megan Bates (4th Beginner Walk Trot), Eric Pettigrew (5th Beginner Walk Trot), Elizabeth Buskey (5th Intermediate Walk Trot Canter), and Alison Dittman (6th Intermediate Walk Trot Canter).

The Dragons had more top performances on day two, with Eisenhart (3rd Open Horsemanship), Hellein (3rd Beginner Walk Trot), and Pettigrew (3rd Beginner Walk Trot) leading the way. Bates (4th Beginner Walk Trot), Eisenhart (4th Open Reining), and Hoile (6th Beginner Walk Trot) added more solid showings.

"Each time we compete we get a little bit better," said Director Claire Johansen. "Just about every rider has placed at one or both shows this year. Being a first year program, we don't have the depth that an experienced team like Ohio State or Ohio University has, which makes our accomplishments this year even more impressive. Our opponents have been amazed at what we're accomplishing with limited numbers."

The Dragons have only two seniors on the roster along with three juniors, with underclassmen making up the bulk of the team. Returning competitors combined with an expected large group of new riders next year will only help the Dragons results next season.

"We have quite a number of riders with very little experience, and they have done really well," Johansen said. "As we add depth to the team, that will increase our success even more. The support we have received from the university has been excellent, and our opponents know that we have a competitive, quality program. It will be interesting as the season comes to a close in a few weeks to see where we finish on the team point standings. For a first year program, we're making quite a statement."

Dragons debut equestrian program

October 20th was an historic day for Tiffin University and their Equestrian Team. The team, thirteen women and one man, competed in their very first Intercollegiate Horse Show Association (IHSA) meet hosted by Ohio University at Stonegate Farm in Coolville, Ohio.

"Although TU is a small private school of 2,000 students, we were extremely competitive against nine other universities," said Coach Julie Vogel.

The IHSA consists of eight levels of hunter seat riding, and six levels of western riding, Educational opportunities and scholarships.

The Tiffin University hunter seat Equestrian team competed in 13 of 48 different Classes during the two day event. Each student rider draws for placement order and horse the day of the competition. Thus, riders are expected to be skilled enough to participate competitively with an unknown horse and unfamiliar saddle. The event is then judged according to class. Awards are given to the top six riders within each class.

"We are very proud of all our athletes who placed in every class they entered," said assistant coach Claire Johansen. Members of the hunter seat team are: Cory Boliantz, Elizabeth Buskey, Allison Dittman, Kaitlin Foster, Victoria Harrington, Autumn Hurst, Amanda Vorst, Veronica Yearling and Rachael Zwayer. They are coached by Julie Vogel, assistance coach Claire Johansen, and team advisor Jill Earl.

The objective of IHSA, according to their printed mission statement, is to offer the opportunity for students to participate competitively in their first year of riding with other experienced riders and gain competitive show experience.

The TU equestrian team is a member of Zone six, Region 3 and includes The Ohio State University, Kent State University, Denison University, College of Wooster, Kenyon College, University of Akron, Oberlin College, Lake Erie College, Ohio University and Tiffin University.