Dragons bring home another track title at G-MAC Championships

Tiffin University's men's track team won their second G-MAC Championship of the year.
Tiffin University's men's track team won their second G-MAC Championship of the year.
Tiffin University's men's track and field squad brought home their second G-MAC Championship of the year and they did it in style, hitting an automatic qualifying mark, setting four G-MAC records, and posting five provisional marks at the G-MAC Outdoor Championships hosted by Hillsdale College.
Tiffin totaled 216.33 points for the first place, easily downing second-place Walsh with 126. Hillsdale had 118 points for third place.
Cameron Burrows also brought home some individual hardware, as he earned Field Athlete of the Meet.
Nikolas Curtiss placed second in the shot put with a mark of 18.03 meters, hitting an NCAA Automatic mark. He was followed by Jabari Bennett, who hit a G-MAC record (18.03m). 
Jonte Baker won in the 100 meters, setting a G-MAC record in 10.42, while Lamar Hargrove also hit a G-MAC record in the 200 meters in 20.95. 
TU's 4x100m relay also won the championship, hitting another G-MAC record with 47.33.
Davis Bowers placed runner up in the pole vault, hitting a provisional mark of 5.10 meters, while Collin Jasin finished 3rd and hit the standard with a mark of 5.00 meters. Cameron Burrows finished 5th with another provisional mark of 4.85m. 
Wavell Hinds brought another provisional mark, winning in the 110 meters hurdles (14.31), while Errik Snell also hit the NCAA mark by placing 3rd in the event (14.53). Snell also placed 3rd in the 400 meters hurdles in 54.04.
Runner-up marks came from Chance Abbitt (400m in 48.65), Quincy Scott (100m in 10.67), and Toryko Grace (discus with 49.60m).
Robert Taylor (200 meters in 21.55) and Tajarie Arthurton (triple jump with 13.65m) finished third for TU.
Other top marks came from Eric Jackson (4th in discus and shot put), Tyler Stuber (5th in triple jump), Elijah Gauldin (5th in 100), Drew Hickman (6th in 400), Jaelin Williams (6th in triple jump), Jacob McPherson (7th in discus), Zion Cross (8th in 100m), and Richard VanBoxel (8th in pole vault).
TU's 4x400m relay also won the championship, as the team of Abbitt, Lynn, Hargrove, and Hickman posted a time of 3:16.30.